Flag days

The two magnificent west towers, above the Great West Door, were the last major construction work to be carried out on the Abbey, constructed from Portland stone between 1722 and 1745 to a design by Nicholas Hawksmoor.

On top of the north tower sits a flag pole on which the Abbey flies flags - of the Commonwealth Nations, the Flag of St Peter, the Abbey Flag, the Union Flag, the Flags of the National Saints, the Royal Air Force Flag, and the Royal Standard.

The West Towers of Westminster Abbey with the Abbey flag flying

 The Flag of St Peter

Flag of St Peter

Red with a pair of Golden Cross Keys, together with the Ring of St Edward the Confessor. This flag combines the symbols of the two Patron Saints of the Abbey: the ring of St Edward the Confessor, king of England 1043–1066 and founder of the Abbey in 1065; and the keys of St Peter, keeper of the keys to the kingdom of heaven, after whom the Abbey was named when it was re-founded as a Collegiate Church in 1579. It is flown on most Church Festivals, such as the feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary and Christmas Day.


The Abbey Flag

Abbey flag

This bears the coat of arms of Westminster Abbey, and is flown during a State Visit on the day when the Head of State visits the Grave of The Unknown Warrior.


Other Flags

The Union Flag is flown on Remembrance Sunday.

The Flags of the National Saints; George, Andrew, and Patrick, are flown on their respective days, and the Welsh Dragon Flag is flown on St David's Day.

The Royal Air Force Flag is flown on the Commemoration of the Battle of Britain.

The Royal Standard is flown whenever the Sovereign is within the Abbey or its Precincts. It is also flown whenever the Sovereign opens Parliament, a privilege granted by King Edward VII.

A National Flag is flown on the day when the High Commission of a Commonwealth member state is represented at Evensong.


Flag day calendar

February

Thursday, 2nd February 2023
Presentation of Christ in the Temple
St Peter flag

Sunday, 26th February 2023
Ash Wednesday
St Peter flag

March

Thursday, 2nd March 2023
St David’s Day
Red Dragon flag

Monday, 13th March 2023
Commonwealth Day
Abbey flag and Royal Standard

Friday, 17th March 2023
St Patrick’s Day
St Patrick flag

Monday, 20th March 2023
St Joseph
St Peter flag

Friday, 24th March 2023
Eve of the Annunciation
St Peter flag

Saturday, 25th March 2023
The Annunciation
St Peter flag

April

Friday, 14th April 2023
Palm Sunday
St Peter flag

Saturday, 15th April 2023
Monday of Holy Week
No Flag

Sunday, 16th April 2023
Tuesday of Holy Week
No Flag

Monday, 17th April 2023
Wednesday of Holy Week
No Flag

Tuesday, 18th April 2023
Maundy Thursday
No Flag

Wednesday, 19th April 2023
Good Friday
No Flag

Thursday, 20th April 2023
Holy Saturday
St Peter flag

Friday, 21st April 2023
Easter Day
St Peter flag

Saturday, 22nd April 2023
Monday of Easter Week
St Peter flag

Sunday, 23rd April 2023
Tuesday of Easter Week
St Peter flag

Monday, 24th April 2023
Wednesday of Easter Week
St Peter flag

Tuesday, 25th April 2023
Thursday of Easter Week
St Peter flag

Wednesday, 26th April 2023
Friday of Easter Week
St Peter flag

Thursday, 27th April 2023
Saturday of Easter Week
St Peter flag

Saturday, 29th April 2023
St George
St George flag

May

Monday, 1st May 2023
St Philip and St James
St Peter flag

Sunday, 14th May 2023
St Mathias
St Peter flag

Thursday, 18th May 2023
Foundation of the Order of the Bath
St Peter flag

Monday, 29th May 2023
Eve of the Ascension
St Peter flag

Tuesday, 30th May 2023
Ascension Day
St Peter flag

Wednesday, 31st May 2023
The Visitation of Our Lady to St Elizabeth
St Peter flag

June

Friday, 2nd June 2023
Coronation Day [1953]
St Peter flag