Flag days

The two magnificent west towers, above the Great West Door, were the last major construction work to be carried out on the Abbey, constructed from Portland stone between 1722 and 1745 to a design by Nicholas Hawksmoor.

On top of the north tower sits a flag pole on which the Abbey flies flags - of the Commonwealth Nations, the Flag of St Peter, the Abbey Flag, the Union Flag, the Flags of the National Saints, the Royal Air Force Flag, and the Royal Standard.

The West Towers of Westminster Abbey with the Abbey flag flying

 The Flag of St Peter

Flag of St Peter

Red with a pair of Golden Cross Keys, together with the Ring of St Edward the Confessor. This flag combines the symbols of the two Patron Saints of the Abbey: the ring of St Edward the Confessor, king of England 1043–1066 and founder of the Abbey in 1065; and the keys of St Peter, keeper of the keys to the kingdom of heaven, after whom the Abbey was named when it was re-founded as a Collegiate Church in 1579. It is flown on most Church Festivals, such as the feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary and Christmas Day.


The Abbey Flag

Abbey flag

This bears the coat of arms of Westminster Abbey, and is flown during a State Visit on the day when the Head of State visits the Grave of The Unknown Warrior.


Other Flags

The Union Flag is flown on Remembrance Sunday.

The Flags of the National Saints; George, Andrew, and Patrick, are flown on their respective days, and the Welsh Dragon Flag is flown on St David's Day.

The Royal Air Force Flag is flown on the Commemoration of the Battle of Britain.

The Royal Standard is flown whenever the Sovereign is within the Abbey or its Precincts. It is also flown whenever the Sovereign opens Parliament, a privilege granted by King Edward VII.

A National Flag is flown on the day when the High Commission of a Commonwealth member state is represented at Evensong.


Flag day calendar

May

Wednesday, 18th May 2022
Foundation of the Order of the Bath
St Peter flag

Sunday, 29th May 2022
Eve of the Ascension
St Peter flag

Monday, 30th May 2022
Ascension Day
St Peter flag

Tuesday, 31st May 2022
The Visitation of Our Lady to St Elizabeth
St Peter flag

June

Thursday, 2nd June 2022
Coronation Day [1953]
St Peter flag

Wednesday, 8th June 2022
Eve of Pentecost
St Peter flag

Thursday, 9th June 2022
Pentecost
St Peter flag

Saturday, 11th June 2022
St Barnabas
St Peter flag

Wednesday, 15th June 2022
Eve of Trinity
St Peter flag

Thursday, 16th June 2022
Trinity Sunday
St Peter flag

Monday, 20th June 2022
Corpus Christi
St Peter flag

Saturday, 25th June 2022
The Birth of St John The Baptist
St Peter flag

Tuesday, 28th June 2022
Eve of St Peter
St Peter flag

Wednesday, 29th June 2022
St Peter
St Peter flag

July

Sunday, 3rd July 2022
St Thomas
St Peter flag

Monday, 11th July 2022
St Benedict
St Peter flag

Wednesday, 20th July 2022
St Margaret
St Peter flag

Saturday, 23rd July 2022
St Mary Magdalene
St Peter flag

Monday, 25th July 2022
St James
St Peter flag

August

Saturday, 6th August 2022
The Transfiguration of Our Lord
St Peter flag

Sunday, 14th August 2022
Eve of The Feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary
St Peter flag

Monday, 15th August 2022
The Feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary
St Peter flag

Wednesday, 24th August 2022
St Bartholomew
St Peter flag

September

Thursday, 8th September 2022
Birth of the Blessed Virgin Mary
St Peter flag

Wednesday, 14th September 2022
Holy Cross Day
St Peter flag

Friday, 16th September 2022
Battle of Britain Sunday
RAF Ensign