Bell ringing days

The Abbey bells can be heard every day before services, but they are also rung to mark special occasions.

See below for a list of upcoming bell ringing days, or Abbey bells for a history of bell ringing at Westminster Abbey.

Bells in the bell chamber of Westminster Abbey

 

Bell ringing calendar

December

Sunday, 25th December 2022
Christmas Day
following the 10.30 am Sung Eucharist

Tuesday, 27th December 2022
St John's Day
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

January

Sunday, 1st January 2023
New Year’s Day
From 1.00 pm

Friday, 6th January 2023
The Epiphany of Our Lord
Following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

Monday, 9th January 2023
Birthday of HRH The Duchess of Cambridge
From 1.00 pm

Wednesday, 25th January 2023
The Conversion of St Paul
Following the 3.00 pm Evensong

February

Thursday, 2nd February 2023
The Presentation of Christ in the Temple
Following the 11.15 am Sung Eucharist

Monday, 6th February 2023
Accession Day
From 1.00 pm

Sunday, 19th February 2023
Birthday of HRH The Duke of York
from 1.00 pm

March

Thursday, 2nd March 2023
St David’s Day (transferred)
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Friday, 10th March 2023
Birthday of HRH The Earl of Wessex
From 1.00 pm

Saturday, 11th March 2023
Commonwealth Day
Before and after 3.15 pm Observance

Friday, 17th March 2023
St Patrick’s Day
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Saturday, 25th March 2023
The Annunciation of Our Lord to the Blessed Virgin Mary
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

April

Wednesday, 12th April 2023
Easter Day
following the 10.30 am Sung Eucharist

Tuesday, 18th April 2023
Royal School of Church Music Festival
Following the 3.00 pm Evensong

Friday, 21st April 2023
Birthday of Her Majesty The Queen
From 1.00 pm

Sunday, 23rd April 2023
St George’s Day
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Sunday, 23rd April 2023
Birthday of Prince Louis of Cambridge
Subsumed into St George's Day ringing

Tuesday, 25th April 2023
ANZAC Day
following the noon service

Tuesday, 25th April 2023
St Mark’s Day
subsumed into ANZAC Day ringing

May

Tuesday, 2nd May 2023
Birthday of HRH Princess Charlotte of Cambridge
From 1.00 pm

Monday, 8th May 2023
75th Anniversary of VE Day

Monday, 15th May 2023
Florence Nightingale
following the noon service

Wednesday, 17th May 2023
Centenary of women in policing
following the noon service

Saturday, 20th May 2023
Charter Day
from 1.00 pm

Tuesday, 23rd May 2023
Westminster Hospital
following the noon service

Tuesday, 30th May 2023
Ascension Day
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

June

Friday, 2nd June 2023
Coronation Day
from 12.30 pm