Bell ringing days

The Abbey bells can be heard every day before services, but they are also rung to mark special occasions.

See below for a list of upcoming bell ringing days, or Abbey bells for a history of bell ringing at Westminster Abbey.

Bells in the bell chamber of Westminster Abbey

 

Bell ringing calendar

November

Tuesday, 30th November 2021
St Andrew’s Day
following the 3.00 pm

December

Saturday, 25th December 2021
Christmas Day
following the 10.30 am Sung Eucharist

Monday, 27th December 2021
St John's Day
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

January

Saturday, 1st January 2022
New Year’s Day
From 1.00 pm

Thursday, 6th January 2022
The Epiphany of Our Lord
Following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

Sunday, 9th January 2022
Birthday of HRH The Duchess of Cambridge
From 1.00 pm

Tuesday, 25th January 2022
The Conversion of St Paul
Following the 3.00 pm Evensong

February

Wednesday, 2nd February 2022
The Presentation of Christ in the Temple
Following the 11.15 am Sung Eucharist

Sunday, 6th February 2022
Accession Day
From 1.00 pm

Saturday, 19th February 2022
Birthday of HRH The Duke of York
from 1.00 pm

March

Wednesday, 2nd March 2022
St David’s Day (transferred)
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Thursday, 10th March 2022
Birthday of HRH The Earl of Wessex
From 1.00 pm

Friday, 11th March 2022
Commonwealth Day
Before and after 3.15 pm Observance

Thursday, 17th March 2022
St Patrick’s Day
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Friday, 25th March 2022
The Annunciation of Our Lord to the Blessed Virgin Mary
following the 5.00 pm Sung Eucharist

April

Tuesday, 12th April 2022
Easter Day
following the 10.30 am Sung Eucharist

Monday, 18th April 2022
Royal School of Church Music Festival
Following the 3.00 pm Evensong

Thursday, 21st April 2022
Birthday of Her Majesty The Queen
From 1.00 pm

Saturday, 23rd April 2022
St George’s Day
Following the 5.00 pm Evensong

Saturday, 23rd April 2022
Birthday of Prince Louis of Cambridge
Subsumed into St George's Day ringing

Monday, 25th April 2022
ANZAC Day
following the noon service

Monday, 25th April 2022
St Mark’s Day
subsumed into ANZAC Day ringing

May

Monday, 2nd May 2022
Birthday of HRH Princess Charlotte of Cambridge
From 1.00 pm

Sunday, 8th May 2022
75th Anniversary of VE Day

Sunday, 15th May 2022
Florence Nightingale
following the noon service

Tuesday, 17th May 2022
Centenary of women in policing
following the noon service

Friday, 20th May 2022
Charter Day
from 1.00 pm

Monday, 23rd May 2022
Westminster Hospital
following the noon service