Bell ringing days

The Abbey bells can usually be heard before services and in celebration of church festivals and royal occasions.

See the Abbey bells page for a history of bell ringing at Westminster Abbey.

Bells in the bell chamber of Westminster Abbey

 

Bell ringing calendar

May

Thursday, 30th May 2024
Corpus Christi
the Abbey bells will be rung at about 6.00 pm, following the Sung Eucharist in thanksgiving for the insitution of Holy Communion

June

Monday, 10th June 2024
The Speaker's Birthday
the bells of St Margaret's Church are rung from 1.00 pm

Saturday, 15th June 2024
Official Birthday of His Majesty The King
the bells of Westminster Abbey will be rung from noon

Friday, 21st June 2024
The Birthday of His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung from 1.00 pm

Friday, 28th June 2024
Eve of St Peter, apostle, martyr, and patron of Westminster Abbey
the Abbey bells will be rung from about 6.00 pm following the Sung Eucharist

July

Sunday, 7th July 2024
Civic Sunday
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung at about noon following Civic Matins

Wednesday, 17th July 2024
The Birthday of HM Queen Camilla
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung from 1.00 pm

Saturday, 20th July 2024
St Margaret of Antioch
the bells of St Margaret's Church are rung following Evensong at about 5.45 pm

August

Thursday, 15th August 2024
The Blessed Virgin Mary
the Abbey bells will be rung at about 6.00 pm following the Sung Eucharist

September

Sunday, 8th September 2024
The Accession of His Majesty The King
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung from 1.00 pm, marking the first anniversary of the Accession of His Majesty The King

Tuesday, 17th September 2024
Battle of Britain Sunday
the Abbey bells will be rung at about noon, following the special service

Saturday, 21st September 2024
St Matthew’s Day
the Abbey bells will be rung at about 5.45 pm, following Evensong

Sunday, 29th September 2024
St Michael and All Angels
the Abbey bells will be rung at about 12.30 pm for St Michael and All Angels and for the Episcopal Consecration

October

Wednesday, 2nd October 2024
The Judges' Service
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung at about 12.30 pm following the annual service

Friday, 4th October 2024
The Lord Speaker's Birthday
the bells of St Margaret's Church are rung from 1.00 pm to mark the birthday of The Right Honourable The Lord McFall of Alcluith PC, Lord Speaker

Sunday, 13th October 2024
The Translation of St Edward the Confessor
a full peal is rung by the Westminster Abbey Company of Ringers from 1.00 pm, and the Abbey bells are also rung following the Sung Eucharist at about 6.00 pm

Tuesday, 15th October 2024
The Dedication of Westminster Abbey, 1269
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung at about 4.00 pm, following Evensong

Friday, 18th October 2024
St Luke the Evangelist
the Abbey bells are rung following Evening Prayer at about 5.30 pm

November

Friday, 1st November 2024
All Saints' Day
the Abbey bells are rung at about 6.00 pm following the Sung Eucharist

Saturday, 2nd November 2024
The Commemoration of the Faithful Departed (All Souls' Day)
the Abbey bells are rung half-muffled following the Sung Eucharist at about 6.00 pm

Thursday, 7th November 2024
The State Opening of Parliament
the bells of St Margaret's Church are rung from about 11.00 am

Saturday, 9th November 2024
The Opening of the Field of Remembrance
the bells of St Margaret's church are rung half-muffled following the ceremony at about noon

Tuesday, 12th November 2024
Remembrance Sunday
the Abbey bells will be rung half-muffled from noon

Thursday, 14th November 2024
The Birthday of His Majesty The King
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung from 1.00 pm

Saturday, 30th November 2024
St Andrew's Day
the Abbey bells are rung at about 5.45 pm following Evensong