Bell ringing days

The Abbey bells can usually be heard before services and in celebration of church festivals and royal occasions.

See the Abbey bells page for a history of bell ringing at Westminster Abbey.

Bells in the bell chamber of Westminster Abbey

 

Bell ringing calendar

April

Monday, 22nd April 2024
Service of Thanksgiving for Roger Greenhalgh
the bells of St Margeret's Church will be rung at a bout noon following the Service of Thanksgiving for the life and work of Roger Greenhalgh

Tuesday, 23rd April 2024
St George's Day
the Abbey bells are rung for St George's Day following Evensong at about 5.45 pm

Thursday, 25th April 2024
St Mark's Day and Anzac Day
the Abbey bells are rung following the Anzac Day service at about 1.00 pm, with ringing for St Mark's Day subsumed

May

Thursday, 2nd May 2024
Baron Rowe-Beddoe
St Margaret's bells will be rung at about noon following the service of thanksgiving for the life and work of David Rowe-Beddoe, Baron Rowe-Beddoe

Monday, 6th May 2024
Coronation Day
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung at 1.00 pm to mark the first anniversary of the Coronation of His Majesty King Charles III

Wednesday, 8th May 2024
Sir Stirling Moss OBE
the Abbey bells will be rung at about noon following the Service of Thanksgiving for Sir Stirling Moss OBE

Thursday, 9th May 2024
Ascension Day
the Abbey bells are rung following the Sung Eucharist at about 6.00 pm

Sunday, 19th May 2024
The Day of Pentecost
the Abbey bells are rung at about 11.45 am following the Sung Eucharist

Tuesday, 21st May 2024
Charter Day, 1560
the Abbey bells are rung from 1.00 pm to mark the anniversary of the refounding of Westminster Abbey by Elizabeth I as the Collegiate Church of St Peter at Westminster

Thursday, 30th May 2024
Corpus Christi
the Abbey bells will be rung at about 6.00 pm, following the Sung Eucharist in thanksgiving for the insitution of Holy Communion

June

Monday, 10th June 2024
The Speaker's Birthday
the bells of St Margaret's Church are rung from 1.00 pm

Saturday, 15th June 2024
Official Birthday of His Majesty The King
the bells of Westminster Abbey will be rung from noon

Friday, 21st June 2024
The Birthday of His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung from 1.00 pm

Friday, 28th June 2024
Eve of St Peter, apostle, martyr, and patron of Westminster Abbey
the Abbey bells will be rung from about 6.00 pm following the Sung Eucharist

July

Sunday, 7th July 2024
Civic Sunday
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung at about noon following Civic Matins

Wednesday, 17th July 2024
The Birthday of HM Queen Camilla
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung from 1.00 pm

Saturday, 20th July 2024
St Margaret of Antioch
the bells of St Margaret's Church are rung following Evensong at about 5.45 pm

August

Thursday, 15th August 2024
The Blessed Virgin Mary
the Abbey bells will be rung at about 6.00 pm following the Sung Eucharist

September

Sunday, 8th September 2024
The Accession of His Majesty The King
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung from 1.00 pm, marking the first anniversary of the Accession of His Majesty The King

Tuesday, 17th September 2024
Battle of Britain Sunday
the Abbey bells will be rung at about noon, following the special service

Saturday, 21st September 2024
St Matthew’s Day
the Abbey bells will be rung at about 5.45 pm, following Evensong

Sunday, 29th September 2024
St Michael and All Angels
the Abbey bells will be rung at about 12.30 pm for St Michael and All Angels and for the Episcopal Consecration

October

Wednesday, 2nd October 2024
The Judges' Service
the bells of Westminster Abbey are rung at about 12.30 pm following the annual service

Friday, 4th October 2024
The Lord Speaker's Birthday
the bells of St Margaret's Church are rung from 1.00 pm to mark the birthday of The Right Honourable The Lord McFall of Alcluith PC, Lord Speaker

Sunday, 13th October 2024
The Translation of St Edward the Confessor
a full peal is rung by the Westminster Abbey Company of Ringers from 1.00 pm, and the Abbey bells are also rung following the Sung Eucharist at about 6.00 pm